Supporting & Rebuilding Families

The name Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata translates from Ojibway into the phrase “we all work together to help one another”.

The Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre, Inc. (Ma Mawi) was born in the fall of 1984 by committed community members who sought an Indigenous solution to supporting and rebuilding families. Since that time, Ma Mawi has worked to support families to better care for children by creating meaningful opportunities for community and family involvement. Ma Mawi believes that strengthening families is a worthy investment in the future.

Today Ma Mawi offers more than 50 programs, 11 sites, and 200+ staff and volunteers.

Our Programs & Sites

Our programs include community programs, youth programs, children-in-care programs as well as The Housing First Program.

  • Gathering Place for Truth and Reconciliation and Administrative Site – 445 King Street
  • McGregor Community Care Site – 363 McGregor Street
  • Spence Community Care Site – 443 Spence Avenue
  • Larsen Community Care Site – 575 Larsen Avenue
  • CLOUT Program – Indigenous Care Home
  • Eagle Horse Society Program – Indigenous Care Home
  • Ozosunon Program – Indigenous Care Home
  • Luke’s Place – Youth Care Home
  • Isobel’s Place – Youth Care Home
  • Circle of Care – Youth Care Home
  • Honoring the Spirit of Our Little Sisters – Youth Care Home
  • H.O.M.E. Hands of Mother Earth – Rural Healing Lodge
  • Grey Buffalo Grandfather Wellness Lodge – Hillside Beach
  • We Che Win Housing First/Reunification Home – 800 Selkirk Avenue

Board of Directors

Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre is governed by an incorporated Board of Directors, comprised of knowledgeable and dedicated people from the Indigenous communities.

Board of Directors 2021- 2022 Year:

Yvonne (Dodie) Jordaan, Chairperson
Dennis Boulanger
Gary Delaronde
Heather Ranville
Jeffrey Betker
Kayla Stubbs
Marcel (Marty) Boulanger
Marilyn Paul
Mary Mahler
Natalie Daniels
Thomas Parenteau